From Nashville & Middle Tennessee Real Estate

Robertson County

Posted in: Area Cities and Counties
By Tentara Properties
Jan 25, 2009 - 2:13:22 PM

New Tennessee Home
Robertson County boasts some of the quaintest little towns  north of the city of Nashville.  With a population of about 62 thousand, it includes Springfield, the county seat, and Adams, Cedar Hill, Coopertown, Cross Plains, Greenbrier, and White House to name a few.   Coopertown, which derived its name from a large cooper shop, made barrels for the Red River Mills Distillery in 1874.  Robertson County distillers were producing 45,000 barrels of whiskey annually.  

Springfield, the county seat since 1796, is best known for the renovations to the Downtown Square, which is on the National Register of Historic Places.  The Winter Wonderland festival and summer Concerts in the Park are just a few of the free family festivities in Springfield.  

Cross Plains began as Kilgore Station, an important 18th century rest stop on the road into the Tennessee frontier in 1812.  By then, the town of Cross Plains emerged.  One of its best-known structures is Thomas Drugs, which dates to 1915 and was built on a site occupied by merchants since the town began.  Thomas Drugs still features the 1900s soda fountain and is known for its old-fashioned milkshakes.

The county has 20 public schools with an enrollment of about 11,000.  It also has four private schools.

© Copyright 2009 by